4 #fudashi moments When Applying for Jobs

Imagine everyone in your class taking a test and your teacher only returns half, or even a third of the tests back with a grade. Then they ignore you for the rest of the semester. And when you finally ask them about it they say,

“If you didn’t get your test back, that means you failed.”

That’s what it’s like applying for jobs.

89d38cfd7eb092e11e5628c60ab599aa77dacfc6ebbc0eb0ffec22474dbc64c0

Although I landed “that good job”, I want to talk about the #fudashi moments I ran into while trying to land a job post-graduation. If there’s one thing that my parents drilled into my brain when I was in college, is that it’s best to start looking for a job before you actually need one. Even if you don’t need the money at that moment, something can always happen in the future and you don’t want to have to worry about if you have enough. Personally, there’s a lot of things I want to do and a lot of places I want to see, and I hate having to give up something  or compromise because of finances.

But the actual process of getting a job has become a little ridiculous. Some of these employers have lost their damn minds, no offense. 5 years of experience for an “entry” job that’s $7.25 an hour? They better see a doctor because they taking the wrong pills. Anyway, lemme just get this off my chest since I know I’m not the only one who rode the struggle bus to the job fair.

1. The Hunger Games: Applications versus Resumes 

First off, tell me why I gotta type out my resume on Page 1 if you just gonna ask me to attach my resume on Page 2?? #wastehertime2017 Forreal, that’s so unnecessary. Whenever i see that I just stop and look for something else. If you’re going to make me repeat tasks for no reason then I don’t think I want you in my life anyway. Please make up your mind. Also, if it takes us an hour to fill out your application and send in requested documents at least have the decency to actually review it when looking for a candidate. Don’t just give us the silent treatment until we’re calling you like a upset sidechick, that’s just rude. #putsumrespeckonit

2. The Silent Treatment (We dating or nah?)

This whole ignoring people thing which probably evolved from today’s texting culture really needs to change. I understand that it can a little difficult to get in contact with every candidate that applied or was interviewed. But just because it’s difficult doesn’t mean it’s impossible. There are these things called colleges that do it all the time with no problem. If you said that you will let them know in 3-4 days and it’s been 3-4 weeks, WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE. Maybe, just maybe, you should hire more people to keep you on track because you’re obviously struggling. Some of these companies are quick to get salty if they don’t hear back from people “in a timely manner” but can’t take their own medicine. There’s really no excuse to be ghosting on applicants only for them to find out the position they were applying for was filled 2 months ago. #girlbye

 

3. Dress Like You Don’t Need The Job

Another culture that needs to be eradicated (white people do your thing) is the notion that “you need a job to get this job” type of mentality. Does that even make sense? Instead of giving the job to someone who looks like they really need it, we look instead for someone who looks like they’re already employed and stable. That just blows my mind. And I need 5 years experience for this entry-level job that is $8.00 an hour? Yeah, no. That’s not gonna work no more with that dusty-looking cheeto entering the White House. Clearly, you don’t need any experience at all so when’s my first day? It frustrates me to see my peers who graduated with me to be working unpaid internships or unfairly low wage jobs.You wanted to know all of our previous work history and salaries but you won’t tell us this position is unpaid? It’s like college is a lottery ticket nowadays for the chance of getting a better job, but no guarantee. And I definitely did not waste 4 years of my time for chances.

4. New job, who dis?

Nothing’s more depressing than finally landing a job and your description grows every week. You applied for the assistant position but now you’re managing operations and customer service. Everything seems fine, except your salary isn’t growing like your duties. But you don’t want to be that person who puts copies of your job description on everyone’s desk to remind them. Man, the exploitation in the work force is so frequent and ridiculous I don’t even know where to begin. If it’s just a one or two time thing, that’s fine. But if you’re constantly being taken advantaged of because they don’t want to spend money hiring another person, that’s not okay. But we’re so afraid to lose our job since it took us so long to find a decent one that we just deal with it. And just tell ourselves it won’t be like this forever so it’s okay. The thing is, it wasn’t supposed to be like that in the first place. It’s not until you leave and look at it from the outside that we see it’s something abnormal that’s been normalized. And that’s just sad.

 

One thought on “4 #fudashi moments When Applying for Jobs

  1. Been there, done that…. they all want experienced applicants….. so how did they get their jobs ? It’s like, which comes first, the chicken or the egg…. it’s so frustrating. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. They’re hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment